On being productive

I am not the type of person that is  self-regimented into being productive each day.  I’d like to blame it on being bipolar II, but I am also lazy and generally unmotivated.  Thankfully, with medicine, I am suspiciously normal.  I still have my lethargic/manic swings but with the miracle of modern science I am very much less so.  On the other hand, medicine can only do so much. Some days are harder than others and that’s frustrating.  But, I’m going off on a tangent.

This weekend, the Mr. and the kids went to Grandma’s and I got some time to myself.  Usually, I eat a lot of junk food, watch tv, play on the computer, and mostly do a lot of nothing.  This weekend was different though.  I was actually productive:

-cleaned my disgusting microwave

-cleaned the disgusting toaster

-cleaned the disgusting double ovens

-cleaned the entire kitchen counter so that I could spray for disgusting bugs

-wrote two business blog posts but they weren’t disgusting

You can see inside and everything!

I am just as surprised as you.  I’m hoping not to have to do any cooking until Thanksgiving.  That seems reasonable.

I get a lot done when I’m home alone for a weekend but I don’t sleep well.  I enjoy the quiet and the ability to focus on what I’m doing with no distractions, but there’s also a bit of a creep factor being in the house alone.  Quite possibly because I read and watch too much horror.  And I’ve never liked sleeping alone.  The cats didn’t even want to lay on the bed–they took the empty house as opportunity to have the Semi-Quarterly Crazy Run.

Not related to this story, but Jake looks like an oil painting.

Regarding the creep factor, I’ve called the police twice over the years regarding concerns while I was home alone.  My house isn’t haunted by any means, but once in a while you will hear things that you shouldn’t.  And random weirdness happens–one day, about 15 minutes after the Mr. had left for a meeting, this car pulled into my driveway…and just sat there.

MIB

I didn’t see the car pull in so I was confused.  I was standing at the window when I took the picture, and opened the door and stood on the front steps trying to see if anyone was in the car.  I wanted to go and yell at them to get out of my driveway and then I remembered I don’t like getting murdered.  The windows were so tinted I couldn’t see into the car so when it just pulled out of the driveway and sped off it really freaked me out. Always an adventure.

I totally forgot to post about Father’s Day! I decided that we’d pay for an Ancestry DNA test because it was on sale and also because the Mr. has been wanting to do this for years.  Who knows how long it will take to get the results, though.  I’ve never been really interested in a DNA test because I didn’t think it would bring up anything interesting.  Asian mutt is what I figure it will be, but honestly, after watching this video it made me a bit more interested.  Skip to 6:28 for Eugene’s results:

The DNA test led into teaching the kids the basics about DNA.  How the traits you can see physically come from your parents, why my dark hair, dark eyed children might have blonde hair, blue eyed children and how portions of our DNA is in every living thing on the planet.  I need to quiz them though, to see if they retained anything.  It wasn’t terribly in depth, but it plants that seed for later discussion.

School is still going pretty well.  Robin is completely adverse to the idea of homework so when it comes time to do any independent work she immediately turns into a puddle of nothing.  You know it’s bad when big brother is warning her about her time management.  Our schedule is pretty good now, and I’m really enjoying the freedom to switch up our plans at whim while still having a decent structure.  Extra curricular activities are keeping us busy, plus the library has been doing some workshops on engineering (Earthquakes and Engineering and Castles and Catapults). Scheduled violin practice at home every day for Robin and sparring practice at the park with Josh on Friday mornings.  Wednesday or Thursday we try to do a few hours at the library for a change of scenery and to give the Mr. some alone time to focus.  Busy is good.  Add to that the regular Mom stuff.  And now add to that social media management and blogging for the business.   I’m trying to write enough content to be able to schedule and plan my posts but seriously, UGH.

The internet is fine, though.

There’s so much more to catch up on!  I could go on and on, but I’m tired but I need to play CivIV.  NEED.  zzzZZZneeeedzzzzz

 

2 thoughts on “On being productive

  1. I am on lazy mode for a few days! I hope it goes off soon. And that car is creepy!!! I thought maybe it was a very confused new neighbour, but tinted windows?!

  2. Right! No new neighbors, just a fucking creep I guess. I mean, who does that? Park in the street if you need to do something, not in my driveway. Crazy people are so crazy, lol

Leave a Reply

