home, life

Revitalized

The past 9 months or so has been difficult for me and my fish tanks.  The carpel tunnel surgeries put a damper on how much I could work on my tanks.  Between the complete immobilization to the wound healing to working up my grip strength up to an acceptable level, I was letting everything pretty much go.  I was dealing with what is technically termed a funk.  Basically a low period in my depression that comes regardless of my medication.  Maybe it was brought on by the surgeries or maybe there was no reason at all, but I found my tanks neglected more and more each day, the only attention I gave them was to fill up the evaporated water because it was too noisy.  Actual water changes were few and far between.

I didn’t lose any fish but my plants took a beating.  I am less stocked than I’d like though; after all of the gourami issues I haven’t bought any new fish, mostly because I was waiting to be fully invested again.

I decided to buy the famous Finnex Planted+ 24/7 which I have been wanting forever.  That, along with new some new plants has really made me happy with the whole look again.  I am also dosing fertilizer again, a habit that gave up as my interest started to wane.

Full frontal!
I just really love this shot of the driftwood and the red sword plant in the foreground.
Giant/Tall hairgrass. Finally. There is actually a ton but the driftwood is blocking some of the view. I ordered 5 plants and easily got double that based on their root systems.
Limnophila aromatica-one of my favorites
Dad teaching his son how to snail. (Malaysian Trumpet Snail)
Dad teaching his son how to snail. (Malaysian Trumpet Snail)

For anyone who cares, here is my plant list:

Amazon Sword, Echinodorus bleheri and the Ozelot and red flame variation (Echinodorus ‘Ozelot’, Echinodorus ” Red Flame”)
Blyxa japonica
Limnophila aromatica
Water wisteria, Hygrophila difformis
Aponogeton boivinianus, Aponogeton crispus, Aponogeton ulvaceus, Aponogeton madagascarensis
Java Fern Windelov, Microsorum pteropus var windelov
Tiger lotus, red and green, Nymphaea lotus ‘Zenkeri’
Dwarf aquarium lily, Nymphaea stellata
banana plant, Nymphoides aquatica
glosso, Glossostigma elantoides
dwarf sagitaria, Sagitaria subulata dwarf
Purple Mudwort, Limnophila heterophylla
Tall hairgrass, Eleocharis montevidensis
water sprite, Ceratopteris thalictroides
various anubias: Anubias barteri, Anubias barteri nana, Anubias nana petite
possibly a stray stem of penny or money wort but I’m unsure.

Stock:

black kuhli loach
otocinclus
swordtail
neon tetra
peppered corydoras
glowlight tetra
black racer nerite snail
bumble bee nerite snail
copious amounts of malaysian trumpet snails

I’m nice and happy with my work at the moment.  The kids’ tank is getting back on track, too.  My Starry Night tank is out of commission at the moment but I’m trying to decide whether I want to get a breeder betta (not from a pet store) or if I want to go in the opposite direction and get a gold fish.  Or maybe a species only tank like for peacock gudgeons or microfish like daisy rice fish.

I’m a nerd.

8 thoughts on “Revitalized”

  1. These are really awesome!! It is cool to learn about all the plants’ names from you, and quite very embarrassingly, I would be calling them “this and that” before realising that each has a name. .___. And the snails are cool, I am only used to swimming fishes and all, amazing to see tank snails for once!

  2. Early on, I had to learn the names so that I could look them up properly. Plants can be more expensive than fish and the last thing I need is to buy $50 worth of garbage! They even sell plants that don’t go into the water at the local fish stores, so I’m constantly on my phone looking everything up.

    Also, a lot of people think that snails are just pests in an aquarium, but they aerate the sand and eat leftovers. :D

    1. Gahhh… Selling non-water plants is just wrong. I can imagine them rotting off later on.

      Ohhh I didn’t know that about the snails!

      1. If you overfeed, the snail population will explode. The snails I have don’t eat living plants (just the dead parts) and the kids’ tank has a rabbit snail that has had a bunch of babies. They eat plants though, so I can’t put any in mine :( They have some tough plants in there that the snails don’t eat. I need to wait a bit so I can update their tank! :D

Leave a Reply

