Post Script: Dragon Con 2016

I’m glad he didn’t spend much money at Dragon Con.  He used the remainder of his money to buy some books and video games, but more importantly, he decided that he wanted to advance his Tae Kwon Do training.  New classes:  longer, more intensive, and more focused than standard after school classes.  New uniform.  New gear.  New price.

I am thankful every day that we can afford to support our kids with what they love, but we’re also not stupid.  He’s quite a serious kid, but he’s still a kid.  The biggest prerequisite for Mom and Dad paying out more money was that he had to buy his own protective gear.

Two hundred dollars worth.

I bought the uniform, though.

I bought the uniform, though.

$200 for protective gear and a bag (which is really nice quality, by the way), $100 for a new uniform, and $25 per month extra for the intermediate class.  The new classes are longer so it really is worth it and we can be much more flexible in our schedule.

Oh, and we’ll have to buy weapons, too.

WEAPONS.

My baby boy.  With weapons.

I hate everything.

I hate everything.

I’m dying here.  He’s growing up so fast–too fast.  he’s had to be too responsible in the past and I can’t take that back and make it right.  I don’t want a mama’s boy…but this is so hard for me.  It’s stupid.  I’m proud and I don’t want to ever hold him back but deep down, I just don’t want to get left behind.  I know he still needs me and he will always need me in some way.

He does love me, you know.

I wish my dad could tell me if I’m doing things right with my son.

Fucking hell.  I wanted to brag about my awesome kid and now I’m just sad.  How the hell do you learn to parent when you don’t have parents?

Ugh, not this shit again.

Ugh, not this shit again.

ANYWAY.

I am done with my second carpal tunnel surgery so I can type again; I have more important things to blog about than my weepy abandonment issues.

Leave a Reply

