entertainment, home, life

The Day-That-Must-Not-Be-Named

Fathers and mothers alike shield their children from it.
It looms, growing ever larger by the hour. Minute. Second.
Panicked whispers.
Just be normal. Everyone, just be normal. Regular day, right? Right?
NO NO NO don’t say that!
Dear God, you fool! You’ll doom us all!

The children! Won’t somebody please think of the CHILDREN!

La, la, la, anyway…so much to discuss!  Our house is a zoo lately.  Summertime boredom/lazies.  I’m taking off the remainder of July to prep for the upcoming school year.  My plan was to start on the first Monday in August, but that seems…lofty.  So my plan is to start some time in August-ish.  We still are doing daily journal, TKD, violin, and summer reading challenges.  I’m tired and need a break and the kids as well.  We’ve also had some distractions!  The good kind!

The itty of the bittys.

Meet Magnus.

Magnus Finnegan Chesterfield  12 weeks new.  We adopted him from the Society of Humane Friends at PetCo adoption weekend.  SO. MANY. KITTENS.  Normally there is a $100 adoption fee but there were so many kittens they cut the price to $50.  I used to think this was high but holy cow, Magnus’ mom was gone (died? ran off?) so he and his siblings were bottle fed until weaned.  Bottle feeding a kitten is a time consuming adorable process.  For that adoption fee, he’s also neutered and vetted.  No worms, no fleas, no serious issues.  Well, he’s got the most AMAZINGLY HORRIBLE DIARRHEA AND HE’S ON $48 VET FOOD but yeah, they really do a ton of work with these animals.

I can haz limited tolerance.

Jake is still my baby.  My jealous baby.  My hairy baby.

He is awfully hairy.

Poor Jake.  He’s being really nice but he gets mad when Magnus tries to go to the bathroom with me (that’s Jake’s job).  Jake has taken to calling for me and demanding hugs and cuddles.  He doesn’t sleep on my head anymore, though.  He sleeps at the foot of the bed near Magnus.  Like he’s trying to set an example or something.

Magnus is full of energy.  Annoying energy.  Fireplace?  I WANNA GET IN THAT!  Waterbowl?  I WANNA TIP THAT OVER!  Small gap in the cabinetry below the double ovens?  I WANT TO GET LOST IN THERE AND FREAK YOU ALL OUT!  Still worth it.  He’s also super cuddly and adorable.

**fear me**

But wait!  There’s more!

The snails died and I have no idea why or how but gross.  I think I’m done with snails for quite a while.  I needed to get something to eat the choking algae in my tank so I thought I’d get a plecostomus and then hope he didn’t grow too fast.  Yes, that was my plan.  Yes, I know plecos get huge.  They don’t get huge overnight or anything and decided that I would deal with that later.  So, I went down to PetSmart (shop smart, shop PetSmart?) and waited and waited for help in the fish area and nothing happened.  One of those feeder goldfish jumped out of the tank and flopped around until it died, but other than that, complete silence.  So I left because it was hot and the kids and I were all so whiny.  On the way home, I impulsively stopped at a place called Nemo’s Aquarium.  It’s literally a little tiny place in a big shopping center and I’ve seen it a million times.  I didn’t know what to expect and I wasn’t expecting anything really but HOLY COW.  It was full of amazing coral and salt water fish.  Beautiful and amazing.  There was a small section of freshwater fish and the clerk helped me find something amazing:

His name is Flapjack.

He’s a butterfly loach.  He’ll get about 3″ max so he won’t be some kind of monster beast.  I was going to name him Butters (not South Park Butters, Polka Never Dies Butters) but Flapjack is more appropriate.  HE’S THE COOLEST OMG I LOVE HIM!

I think he’s the neatest.

So there’s the news.  I have more to discuss but I’ve been overly obsessed with Civ IV because I’m old and boring.

2 thoughts on “The Day-That-Must-Not-Be-Named”

  1. Wah, I never knew that older cats will start doing all these stuff when a new kitten comes. I always thought they would be nonchalant and all. And little Flapjack is cool!

Leave a Reply

