Everything

Scene:  Josh is sitting next to me in my king sized bed working on math review.  Easy stuff, addition and subtraction, regrouping, etc.  Robin is in trouble, standing in front of my dresser in time out because she refused to spell the word “four”.  Wendy is laying on a blanket on the floor in front of an overturned storage ottoman, repurposed as a dog house.  Jake is snaking his body around my head in an attempt to get me to stop typing.  He keeps bothering Josh and trying to stop him from doing his work, so one of us has to sacrifice.  Jake has just now moved to nap just close enough to Josh to periodically flick his tail onto his clipboard.

* * *

I’m in a lot of pain.  The knee thing has really progressed to the point where I’m in pain all the time.  It’s advanced osteoarthritis in my knees and I had an MRI done yesterday to see what’s going on with the soft tissues in there.  I’m going to assume some damage because when I walk it doesn’t just hurt in my knees, but up and down through the femur and tibia.

That’s no moon.

I’m not a rocket surgeon, but I don’t think my bones are supposed to be all jaggedy like that. My actual doctor agreed with me and sent me to the orthopedic surgeon who made a face when he poked around my knee and sent me for an MRI.  I have the MRI pictures, too, but it all looks like cross sections of ham.

Except my leg looks disgusting, and this looks delicious.

* * *

After some serious consideration about Wendy, we have decided to keep her.  I have been in contact with Dream Dachshund Rescue and while Wendy would be a good candidate for an adoption, there just isn’t anywhere for her to go right now.  There was a lot of back and forth on what to do with her, how to take care of her, etc and ultimately, I just feel like I need to redouble my efforts to take care of my dog and keep my house clean.  It’s not easy, but I love her and honestly nothing is ever fucking easy.  Ever.

Look at her scarf. LOOK AT IT!

* * *

In other news, my son took his green belt test for Tae Kwon Do, turned 7 and we all went to LegoLand.  It was a busy weekend.  To become a green belt, he has to join the National Taekwondo Federation:

So cool!

and he had to write an essay with his application:

I didn’t write it for him.

Proud Mom is proud.

 Holy cow.  I never get any good pictures of him testing because I try to stay on the furthest side of the room so I don’t distract him.  He is always the tiniest kid in his group though:

Miniature.

He just got moved to a new class, presumably because he just turned 7.  Pretty soon he’ll change classes again, I think, to be with the green belts.  I’m weepy and proud and excited for him.

He picked the yarn because he’s an old man.

In other news, I shouldn’t have a seven year old.  I can’t even take care of a plant.  He had a great birthday and I was happy to do all the work even though I was totally unprepared and literally had to take a bunch of narcotics to dull the pain in my knees.  I stayed up until 2 AM the night before making sure everything was done for his birthday, even running out to Kroger past midnight because I didn’t have enough candles.  Who doesn’t have enough candles for her baby boy’s birthday???

Laval and the happiest 7 year old ever!

Legoland was a total hit and very affordable.  We spent hours there, ate lunch, watched movies, rode rides, built stuff, tore stuff up, etc.  Perfect.  They even have an adult night which is awesome.  I love how adults are not allowed in unless accompanied by a child.  Because you know there are weirdos out there and that’s the last thing you need to see is a 30 year old man fighting with a  year old over the last Lego brick.

* * *

Josh is done with his work for the day and Robin is finally out of time out and working on subtraction next to me in bed.  I’m about ready for a nap, but I probably won’t get one.  My plans for next few weeks are:

nothing.

Here’s to keeping my plans.

Leave a Reply

