miscellaneous

I FOUND IT

I knew I wasn’t crazy.  At least not about this.  At least not this time.  Earlier this month I was lamenting a poetry earworm and couldn’t figure it out.  Even if I had the correct phrase in my head it wouldn’t have been helpful.  So, without further ado, here it is!

“And after Many Years, A brave Prince Came at Last to Rescue the Princess”
If I Were In Charge of the World and Other Worries, by Judith Viorst

Down in the courtyard
Beneath my high window,
Victor of wizards and hazards and mazes,
Beautiful, proud on your horse.
You are calling my name.
Often I dreamed
As I sat by my window
Dreamed of the prince and the horse and the journey.

Gray day in gray day dissolved,
But my prince never came.
Often I dreamed
But the brambles grew thicker.
Until I became an old princess accustomed
To daydreams, the safety of towers,
This room and this chair.
And now you are calling
Beneath my high window.
Victor of wizards and hazards and mazes,
Beautiful, proud–
How you shine in these shadows!
No, my prince.
No, my dear.
I will not let down my hair.

Hopefully this is all correct; I can’t find a copy online so all I have to go on is what I wrote in an old high school notebook.  I had the book name wrong, by the way, so I’m officially an unreliable source.

Leave a Reply

