entertainment, life

Like, Jr. High

Do you ever have those moments that not only make you feel like such a worthless piece of shit, but also reminds you of all of these other times in your life that you were reminded that you are in fact, a worthless piece of shit?  No?  Really?  Okay, yeah, me neither.

The summer before my freshman year of high school I went to nerd camp for a week.  Random fact: I am still friends with one of my suite mates.  In preparation for all the fun, I got a couple of new tape singles that were awesome.

Yeah.

Cassette tape singles.  To listen to in my Walkman.  One song on each side.  For those unfamiliar, this is how you listened to a cassette tape single:

  • Listen to popular song on side A
  • Song ends, fast forward to end of tape
  • Take out tape, flip over, listen to song on side B
  • Song ends, fast forward to end of tape
  • Repeat until you hate the songs

The one single I remember was Radiohead’s Creep.  The edited for radio version because fuck saying ‘you’re so fucking special’ because I could be fucking traumatized for life.  But the B-side of that single has always been one of my favorites and it’s been my earworm all day so here it is:

Faithless the Wonder Boy

I’ve had these jeans since I was born
And now they’re ripped and now they’re torn
And all my friends have skateboards

I want the toys of other boys
I want a knife and a gun and things
But mom and dad will not give in

And I can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in
I can’t put the needle in
No I can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in

And now I know just what it is
It’s called disease and it’s got my head
It always runs where I hide

Too scared too talk, too scared to try
Too scared to know the reasons why
And all my friends say bye bye

And I can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in
No I can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in
Can’t put the needle in

Leave a Reply

