Trying New (Old) Things, part 2

It’s been over a year since Boris died.  It has been so difficult, even with Wendy.  Wendy is great.  That wiener has literally healed my heart in only the way an animal can.  I was incredibly lucky to find her.  But now, after all the rest of the last year’s losses and this year’s drama, I just needed something else.

I’ve missed this, so much. (Being Moe, I mean. The cat cuddling, too. I’ve also missed that.)

I am still looking for things, but just this past Tuesday I received a sign from…Facebook:

Magnificent

I brought Wendy and the kids to the vet the next day to meet Jake.

Majestic. Just an amazing animal.

So Jake is the newest member of our family.  He’s still skittish around the two noise machines, but three days later, he is quite comfortable climbing me.  Did I mention that he’s probably a Maine Coon, or at least part?  And he’s chatty as shit?  Our conversations go like this:

Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?
Meow.
Jake?

I find this pretty freaking hilarious, even at all hours of the night.  Other people might not think so, but I love it.  He’ll fit right in here.

Ignore the string on his tail. Seriously, let’s not discuss how messy my house is.

He’s black, with a very light undercoat. He looks like he’s been dipped in soot.

Observing humans in their natural habitat.

…And he just horked up a hairball.  Oh, gee, how I’ve missed that.

Fair trade though.  He makes me quite happy.

One thought on “Trying New (Old) Things, part 2

Leave a Reply

