entertainment, life, news

Weepy

Let me add a molecule to the ocean of thoughts regarding Mr. Roger Ebert.

I grew up with Siskel and Ebert.  I often disliked him.  When I was young, I thought he was old and dumb.  Since I became not young, I thought he was old, but no longer dumb. (Surely it was he that gained wisdom over the years!)  Often smart, often with good taste, occasionally disagreeable.  Always, at the very least, with passion and intelligence behind his words.  His essay here, published in his book Life Itself: A Memoir, brings me to tears and makes me weep as if I knew him personally.  As if we were going to meet up this weekend to watch a movie and argue about it.

Good journey, Mr. Ebert.  You will be very missed.

Leave a Reply

