entertainment, life

Reunions And Rekindlings, Part 3

Sometimes in a woman’s life, there are things she doesn’t want to admit to.

  • The number of one night stands she’s had.
  • That time she ordered a pizza for delivery and pretended there was someone else in the apartment but then ate it all herself.
  • How much she talks to her pet.
  • Petty theft.
  • Any bad odors that she made, bodily or otherwise.

I have the same thoughts.  I think that my friends will look at me differently, as if knowing some hidden fact about me will somehow connect point A and B together.  Oh, that’s why she’s like that!  Well, it’s 2:43 AM and I thought I would share the fact that I have re-entered the world of Azeroth.

Aww, snap.

From November 15, 2007:

I was sitting around at work, daydreaming about my lost love, World of Warcraft. The hours we spent together, the dreams we had… Yes, there were hard times, like in the beginning when I felt like we just didn’t fit together. But we worked it out. It takes time, perserverance, and above all, love. It takes love to make it work.

When it ended, it was mutual. We struggled with the decision but we knew we just couldn’t go on. We had grown distant and our goals had changed. I was in a level 59 rut and he just couldn’t give me that last boost I needed. And so, it ended.

And so, in a moment of nostalgia, I wondered what happened to my love, and I found out that he missed me, too:

I’m torn. I want to go back, but I don’t think I’m ready. I…I just don’t know.

The last time I played was before ANY of the expansions.  Level 60 was the limit and we quit right at level 59.  Why?  Because babies ruin make everything better, that’s why.

Glory days.  Rangiku, human warrior.

Now, it’s no secret that I like video games.  I love video games.  But this is different.  I don’t think of myself as a gamer because I’m just not that cool.  I like playing games.  I like figuring things out.  I like killing with reckless abandon.  None of these things are a surprise.  But with Warcraft comes obsession.  I’m only not playing right now because I’m writing this blog post.

Backstory:  I. Hated. World. of. Warcraft.  With a passion.  Because when I first met my husband, I was an outsider.  I didn’t (and still don’t) D&D.  His friends didn’t like me (still don’t).  I liked my nerdy things, not his, and vice versa.  He’d always be surprised that I liked anything sci-fi.  Guess what?  You can love Clueless and Stargate and Boyz n the Hood.  The heart wants what it wants.  But this game invaded my home and ate up so much of his fucking time I couldn’t stand it.  Whole weekends were devoted to it, hours on end.  We fought.  A lot.  It was really that threatening to our marriage.  None of this “it’s just a video game” bull shit–if your spouse, male or female, spends every non-working minute of the day NOT with you, you’re gonna have a bad time.

In the end, I don’t feel like I acquiesced, I felt like I gave it a chance.  I wanted to be fair.  He comically tried to teach me how to play until we fought about that.  We are great teachers, just not for each other.  Once I kicked him off the computer to do it myself, I actually liked it.  So much that the whole of our evenings and weekends were dedicated to playing.  Nothing else.  Bathroom was in the next room, kitchen in the room next to that.  Eating was done while playing.  We guarded each other for bathroom breaks.  Did you think South Park made that shit up?  Anyway, we quit due to the impending birth of our first child and the fact that we knew we’d absolutely fight about who was getting to play and who was having to raise the kids.

Since then, we’ve had one more kid and a dog, so we’ve become responsible adults.  And they can kind of take care of themselves for 10-12 hours straight so we are totally back at it!  Yay!  My biggest complaint is that my characters end up looking like dirty whores if I want to play as a girl:

Dimistaa, Draenei mage. My main character. She wears cloth armor. Yes, she’s wearing pants. No, she’s not on her period.
Lettent, human paladin.  Main alt.  That’s plate armor. I can assure you, it doesn’t look like that on a guy, not that guys could pull it off anyway.

I usually wear a tabard to cover my shame, but it doesn’t do much.  My next characters (some of which are guys) are on hold because I’m having too much fun leveling these two.  With three new expansions, it’s a totally new game after 5 years.  The kids like to cuddle up and watch, BUT NOT TOO CLOSE GET OFF MY ARM I AM BATTLING!  Dinner conversations revolve around upgraded gear, leveling and general one-up-man-ship.  We have to carefully mete out our time and keep each other in check.

Anyway, it’s 3:30 AM now and I need to get back to it.  I’m busy.

Leave a Reply

