crafty, life

What’s Up

So much as been going on.  Let’s start with my radio silence: I got into a bar fight on Sunday.  The bar won.

It will be clean, you know, eventually.

You see those bars that are taped together?  Yeah, I got beaned in the head with the two big ones that are on the floor.  They are the iron canopy bars that go with the bed.  I don’t really know how it happened other than I knocked them when trying to get into the closet.  I had wicked bad headache and nausea afterwards, but it went away. And then it came back.  And then I got dizzy.  And then I had a shitload of nightmares that night.  Monday came and I still had dizziness and extreme tiredness and general loopy-ness.  So off to the emergency room I went!

Just as I always suspected!

Actually, I got a CT scan, not an x-ray.  My very first one!  Everything normal other than the fact that I had a concussion.  Did you know that you can have concussion symptoms for weeks?  GREAT.

In other news, I’ve made some progress on my most recent project:

Two layers of sweatshirt plus batting. Thank goodness it's 80 degrees today.

I wanted to machine quilt this, but the seams were just way too thick for the needles I had. 4 layers of sweatshirt plus batting at the seams just wasn’t going to happen.  So I’m hand quilting it.

Six threads of embroidery floss. I think this worked out better anyway.

I am actually having to put this project on hold right now because Josh’s birthday is coming soon and I haven’t started birthday socks yet.  For shame, Mom!

Knit Picks Stroll Hand Painted Sock Yarn in Tiger colorway.

He’s so big cat crazy that he will love it, I’m sure.  52 stitches around in k2, p2 ribbing.  He’s still so skinny and little, but his feet are SO LONG.  One of these days, my children won’t be so little and won’t be excited about hand knits, so I had better take advantage while I can.  Every time I break out any yarn the first question from the kids are “who is that for?!”.  Can we freeze this feeling?  :)

1 thought on “What’s Up”

Leave a Reply

