Immigrants

Not referring to Viking Kittens, but just as great.  In addition to puzzles, I’ve been reading! Books!  Though, these are graphic novels.  Still good stories and yes, I am reading actual books, too.  But these go by so fast and they’re great, so I thought I’d share:

Anya's Ghost

Anya’s Ghost was great.  I loved it.

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn’t kidding about the “Forever” part . . .

Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century.

Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya’s normal life might actually be worse. She’s embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she’s pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend—even a ghost—is just what she needs.

Or so she thinks.

I don’t try too hard to speculate while reading, and I liked the little twist in the story.  There was a real element of horror in it, but I am the type to really put myself in the story whether it’s a graphic novel or a 600 page epic.  It’s well written and well drawn and appeals to my never relenting inner angst-y teenage girl.

American Born Chinese

American Born Chinese has been on my watch list for a long time now.  I’ve been wanting to read this forever and I can’t thank my local library enough for having good stuff.

Jin Wang starts at a new school where he’s the only Chinese-American student. When a boy from Taiwan joins his class, Jin doesn’t want to be associated with an FOB like him. Jin just wants to be an all-American boy, because he’s in love with an all-American girl. Danny is an all-American boy: great at basketball, popular with the girls. But his obnoxious Chinese cousin Chin-Kee’s annual visit is such a disaster that it ruins Danny’s reputation at school, leaving him with no choice but to transfer somewhere he can start all over again. The Monkey King has lived for thousands of years and mastered the arts of kung fu and the heavenly disciplines. He’s ready to join the ranks of the immortal gods in heaven. But there’s no place in heaven for a monkey. Each of these characters cannot help himself alone, but how can they possibly help each other? They’re going to have to find a way—if they want fix the disasters their lives have become.

It was super good!  I’m totally biased because I am the American born Chinese/Thai in my family.  I’m a super huge fan of stories that start out separately and slowly become intertwined by the end.  What’s amusing to me is that this story appeals to my current self as opposed to my teenaged self–I have more problems fitting in now than I ever did in my little podunk home town.

Lesson learned from both stories:  just be yourself.  Very nice.

Oh, P.S:  This is a hilarious excerpt from American Born Chinese:

The only way I can listen to Backstreet Boys.

Leave a Reply

