Lies I Tell Myself: I’m a grown up!

But...but...I *AM* a grown up! Kind of. Sort of.

I don’t think I’ll ever feel like an adult.  Less than a week ago, I had an anime poster and Halloween decorations on the wall of my bedroom.  My bedroom furniture consisted of a TV stand/entertainment center from 10 years ago, two microwave carts as bedside tables, a king sized mattress and box spring on a frame, and a $20 shelf from Wal-Mart.  Only toward the middle of last year we were finally able to use a dresser made of actual wood and not plastic drawers.  Then, over the New Year holiday weekend did everything change:

This is not my beautiful house. This is not my beautiful wife.

The color is Lowe’s Valspar paint in Spanish Green.  That link takes forever to load, but the color is pretty spot on.  The mattress is waist high for me, so getting in and out is a struggle.  Like, a struggle.  Fortunately, I’m lazy, so once I’m in bed, I don’t get out much.

We spent a fair amount of money on the furniture and mattress set, but frankly, I deserve it.  And we’re not going into any kind of debt for it, so that’s an added bonus.  It’s solid mahogany and the new mattress is heavenly.  I took a quick peek to see what other beds and night stand similar to this cost and I found this, which was definitely much more than what I paid for my bed.  When you start comparing mattresses and nightstands at the same quality, I made out like a bandit.  I know it’s totally cliche and nerdy, but it feels like a hotel.  I’m quite happy and think that after 9 years of living in my house I deserve to put some money into my bedroom.

Not a bad way to start 2012.  Though, to be fair, this is a sure sign of the apocalypse.

One thought on “Lies I Tell Myself: I’m a grown up!

Leave a Reply

