home

Merry Christmas Eve and some other stuff

Christmastime is strange now.  I have another adult in the house and am allowed to go to the bathroom with the door shut.  It’s like bizarro world here.

Maybe not so bizarro; there is still laundry everywhere.

My exciting day is going to be filled with laundry and cleaning.  I just don’t like having the house a mess on Christmas.

In other news, I had a dream about my grandmother last night.  She was there and then she wasn’t.  I described it as how people see ghosts–she didn’t look like how she did the last time I saw her (5 years ago).  She was younger, thinner.  Her hair was different.  she was my Grandmother from 10 or 15 years ago.  When I woke up, I cried as if she had just died, not as if I found out via Google over a year later.  I still have a headache from it.  I’ve never had a dream about my Grandmother.

So after a big Christmas Eve breakfast, lots of coffee and watching sea otters*, I’m hanging out watching Roseanne and it’s the episode where Becky has to get birth control.  This episode makes me crazy.  How am I going to do this with my kids?  I don’t want to have this conversation.  It makes me want to brick up the house with the kids inside.

Scratch that.  I don’t want them to get all Flowers in the Attic-y.

I think I’m going to set up a system where we have to talk about something terrible and uncomfortable like, once a month or something.

Pick an STD out of the hat!

The Christmas gifts I sent this week were received yesterday in good shape.  Cookies were eaten, woolies were worn.  I’m actively working on two gifts, which thankfully do not have a deadline.  I’m well past the deadline.

*Fun fact:  Otters have 1 million hairs per square inch; compare that to dogs which have 100,000 hairs per square inch.  Thanks, Jeff Corwin!

Leave a Reply

