ChÜberlist: 2011–September Update

Early is okay.  I’m probably not going to get anything else done for the rest of the month, so I thought I’d go ahead and update.

Early birthday socks!

16. Knit three pairs of gift socks. Two down, one more to go.  Josh and Robin now have birthday socks, a tradition I hope to keep going.  I am sure I will be able to crank out one more pair in time for Christmas giving.  Now that I’ve typed that, I will surely get nothing done ever again.

Boo boos make me crazy.

The pattern is Charade and I think it works well for an adult pattern but not so much for a kid’s pattern.  It shows better when it stretches.  I felt like I should have just done a 2×2 rib or something.

Obligatory sole to sole shot.

The yarn is Serenity Sock Weight in Violas colorway.  It’s cheap and gets the job done (perfect for kiddos).  I’m pretty impatient so it makes me happy to be able to just pick something up from Joann’s.  I also got a skein in a nice charcoal gray; I have enough left that I might be able to push out an adult pair if I add in some gray stripes.  And cuffs.  And heels.  And toes.

12. 5 baby hats.  I have one actual baby hat done that is just sitting in my craft room.  I am going to make at least one more actual baby hat.  I did, however, make a hat for a 7 year old and a 12 year old, so in the spirit of doing whatever the hell I want, I am going to sub two kid’s hats for three baby hats.

12 year old boys are all badasses, right?

Skull Isle from Son of Stitch N Bitch: 45 Projects to Knit and Crochet for Men.  This was kind of a last minute type gift, done in worsted weight rather than fingering weight.  I’m too lazy and impatient for fingering weight yarn.

For a 7 year old girl, modeled by a 4 year old boy.

This hat is for a fox crazy 7 year old.  Not to be confused with those crazy for foxy 7 year olds.

Pedobear, I'm looking at you.

Anyway, as previously mentioned, this girl is fox crazy so I made her a crazy fox hat.

Side view.

I winged it on the ears.  Knitted tip to base, slipping the first stitch on each row so I could sew the white furry part to the colored back.  I sewed it to death so that it would stay on the hat and stay upright.  Hat: good ol’ reliable Thorpe  Yarn: Acrylic

Pose: fierce

I’m working on a hat for myself right now that is hopefully going to turn out very pretty.  I’m not feeling overwhelmed yet, but I’ve been known to have delayed reactions.  Hopefully more to come before month end (but I’m not going to hold my breath)!

Leave a Reply

