Cheering up

I dunno.  I feel like I need some.  My day didn’t start off badly and it’s not even yet what I’d call bad.  I’m just feeling like a wiener.

Woke up at 8 AM (not bad for me), got the kids up, fed, etc.  Did dishes, ate my breakfast, relaxed for a minute, worked with Josh on his letters WITH NO INCIDENT WHATSOEVER, did some laundry.

I was convinced that I was going to change out the kitchen faucet.  It’s a bajillion years old and is leaking about half a gallon of water an hour.

Maybe I can donate this to a museum?

Bought the new faucet.  Just need a swap.  No problem, right?

Tomatoes not included. RIP OFF.

The problem is that I’m totally being a girl and I don’t want to do it BECAUSE IT IS GROSS DOWN THERE. There is a soap dispenser that we don’t use and it appears that it has been leaking soap for the past 20 years or so.  Disgusting.

This picture does not adequately capture the ick factor. My hands sure as hell captured it, though.

I moved everything out of the way, turned off all the water and now am just waiting for either my ass to get into gear or for the plumber to call me back with a price to install the new fixture.  It’s going to be outrageous, I know.  I’m going to guess $150 which is a terrible price to pay.  This might just be a two person job and I may have to wait for the Mr. and the end of tax season.  But I’m impatient.  Maybe I will do the stupid thing myself.  It sucks because it’s just so damn hard to get to.  Did I mention gross?  GROSS.

I am being a baby, I know.  I should just mom up and do it.  By the way, I think I’m going to say “mom-up” instead of “man-up” from now on.  Primarily because I’m not a man.  Ingenious.

***UPDATED TO ADD:  Oh, guess what.  I’m a wimp and cannot for the life of me turn one damn nut in that cacophony of 25 year old pipes.  I have been able to do it on other fixtures; maybe these are just more corroded?  Maybe I’m just a wiener.

One thought on “Cheering up

  1. Pingback: For me? | chukichi

Leave a Reply

