Japan

Photobucket

It has been 11 days since the devastating 9.0 earthquake and tsunami in Japan and I haven’t blogged one word of it. At first, I was pretty stunned and couldn’t think of anything to say. My blog is mostly frivolous and fun and boring. I rarely get serious. As the days went on, this enormous event on the other side of the world affected me less and less and daily life took over more and more. And let’s face it, it’s much easier to NOT turn on the news and NOT think about it. What can you do when you’re so helpless? The need was immediate and while my monetary donation was being put to good use, it wasn’t as if I could comfort people, hand out food, or search through decimated villages.

Photobucket

Helplessness makes you feel like a wiener.

I felt so much better after getting the first update after the disaster from the Tokyobling Blog, a photography blog that I have been following for years. This really allayed my worries for the most part and helped me realize how sensational news media is. Don’t get me wrong–this is not me trying to pretend that something bad didn’t happen or me trying to play down what happened in the very least. But it did ease my mind; the news made me feel like the whole of Japan had been obliterated. It’s simply nice to see a different perspective and to understand a country that is as prepared as humanly possible for all of these cataclysms. Check out his blog and photography; you don’t have to love Japan to appreciate great photos. Doesn’t hurt, though.

Photobucket

In other news, don’t “Pray for Japan”, or at least, don’t just pray for Japan. Donate what you can. Be aware and spread awareness of what is and what isn’t happening. Follow the strength and resolve of the Japanese culture and get on with your lives otherwise Mother Earth wins.

Photobucket

I leave you with this: Donald Duck invented Manga. Reading Cracked makes me wish I still did drugs.

2 thoughts on “Japan

  1. You have the Best. Blog. Ever.

    Have I ever mentioned that I’m super impressed by the photos you find to use?

    Also, I’m SUPER impressed with the Scrooge/Donald Duck Cracked article :)

  2. Thanks dewd. Only you and like a few other people actually look at my blog but who cares. I don’t sleep anymore and I need to take drugs if I want to sleep at a decent hour lbha lbahblah blah. Maybe if all my entries were under the influence I’d be more popular HA! I love cracked and I get 95% of all my knowledge from them which is why I’m so retarded.

Leave a Reply

