2,922 days

Photobucket

That’s what the Mr. calculated; I’ll just say 8 years. Today is our 8th anniversary and on one hand, it’s expected and on the other hand, it’s totally unbelievable. I think of all the things the Mr. and I have had to deal with over our relatively short marriage and I compare it to others and wonder if they could have lasted as long as we have. We might fight terribly and handle our stress terribly and take each other for granted terribly, but at the core of it all, we love each other terribly, too. There is a quote that’s attributed to Marilyn Monroe that women just love to throw around:

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

Often this quote is used to allow women to just be a total bitch and say “deal with it”. Trust me, I’m all for that. But it also needs to be turned around for the man, too. If I can’t handle him at his worst, then why do I deserve him at his best?

When we’re bad, we’re really bad. But I’d take 2,922 bad days with the Mr. rather than the alternative. We know what each other is thinking to a creeeeeeepy degree. He knows all of my Simpsons references. He kills bugs, reaches for things off of tall shelves, opens jars and checks out weird noises. He does trash and cat litter. He’s also a great father and after all these years he’s still a sucker for me.

Happy Anniversary.

2 thoughts on “2,922 days

  1. AWE!! This was a great post! I love, love, love the picture! I can almost see you! =) Marriage isn’t easy – I mean, it takes time, patience and understanding. However, I believe that things worth having aren’t easy, to make us appreciate them. Happy Anniversary!

    PS – your anniversary is also Hannah’s birthday (She turned 17 this year) and it’s just 5 days before OUR anniversary. We’ll be celebrating #6 this Saturday!

  2. I can’t believe Hannah is 17! I also can’t believe our anniversaries are so close together. I do like this picture too…would like it more if it wasn’t so DUSTY! I really need to re-shoot this.

Leave a Reply

