holy shit

I was finally able to catch up on my knitting blogs today and and I discovered this, posted yesterday, 11/24:

As of today, the OFA has just barely 1300 scarves. They need 3000 for the Red Scarf Project, to send in care packages to college students formerly in foster care, who are going it on their own.

As many of you may or may not know, I have a real soft spot for people trying to make it through life without the strength and support of a family that so many people take for granted. Some people do not have a choice of whether they have a family, some are forced into their choice or have the choice forced upon them. Are you going to spend this Thanksgiving surrounded by your family? Will you get to go home?

Or do you not have a home to go to?

Deadline is December 15 and I’m terrible when it comes to deadlines. This was going to be on my ChÜberlist: 2010 but I am going to bite the bullet and do my best to get one out this year. It won’t be red, but black or any other neutral color will do.

The thing that gets me every single time is thinking about my own children. What if something happened to me? Would someone do this for my kids if they were alone in the world? I am such a sucker. Thank god for that.

Photobucket

3 thoughts on “holy shit

  1. I hope you know, that God forbid something happen, your children will never be alone in this world. They will always have their Texas family. You do too :)

      • Yeah I figured it was you, LOL. And I know, I know. It’s not worse, just different. I just know how I feel about it and if something as simple as a scarf can make someone feel better, then how can I not at least try?

Leave a Reply

