on monkeys and babies and self esteem

My friend Adrienne recently had a baby shower for her baby-to-be Juniper and her nursery theme is going to be sock monkeys. I thought I would use the pattern from Stitch N Bitch Crochet: Happy Hooker and make her a Sock Monkey blanket and hat. Here are the results:


a blanket with monkey heads. delicious.


detail


a hat with a monkey head. ironic.


bonus hat. Because every baby should be hard core enough to rock out a black, scallop edged hat.

She said she really loved it, and it was a hit at the shower. You can tell how excited she is by the look on her face:

whee.

I’m a super dork because I never think anything I do is good enough. And that everyone is secretly talking about me and my lack of skills. I’m not good enough, I’m not smart enough and no one likes me. No one likes me everybody hates me, I think I’ll eat a worm. Did I learn nothing from Stuart Smalley?


Even Stuart thinks I’m gay.

On the upside, Josh liked my work so much he demanded one of his own.


The same, but completely different.

Here he is, enjoying his blanket in the late afternoon in 1972. At least that’s what the coloring of this picture reminds me of:

Leave a Reply

